02.02.12 Hebrew Bible

Bill Heinrich  -  Jan 18, 2016  -  Comments Off on 02.02.12 Hebrew Bible

02.02.12 Hebrew Bible. This is more commonly known as the Old Testament to Christians and as the Tanakh to Jewish people. The books are the same as in the Christian Old Testament, although it has three divisions, a different book order, and some minor variations in chapter and verse divisions. The divisions are as follows:

  1. The Torah (“Teaching”): Known as the Five Books of Moses or the Pentateuch (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy).
  1. The N’vi’im (“Prophets”): Includes the historical books of Joshua, Judges, Samuel and Kings; the three major prophets of Isaiah, Jeremiah, and Ezekiel; and the twelve minor prophets of Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi.
  1. The K’tuvim (“Writings”): Includes the books not listed above – Psalms, Proverbs, Job, the “five scrolls” (of Song of Songs, Ruth, Lamentations, Ecclesiastes, Esther) Daniel, Ezra-Nehemiah, and Chronicles.[1]

[1]. Spangler and Tverberg, Sitting at the Feet of Rabbi Jesus. 40-42.


Comments are closed.

  • Chapters